Cotto vs Mayweather

On May 5th, Miguel Cotto and Floyd Mayweather will meet in the ring, for what one hopes will be a great boxing match up.  Leaving myself in distraught though, for I am a big fan of both these fighters.

Many have been waiting for Pacquiao and Mayweather to settle the pound for pound best rivalry, for years now, but the two seem to get nowhere closer to this fan dream bout.  Pacquiao and Mayweather wasn’t going to happen, since Pacquiao’s last fight with long time rival Juan Manuel Marquez.  As good as Marquez was at counterpunching and defense in that fight, Mayweather is far greater at those skills, and is naturally a larger fighter than the Pacman.  Which Bob Arum of Top Rank Promotions (Pacquiao’s promoter) seem to have realized.  After that fight, Arum was obviously avoiding the possible fight with Mayweather, and was focusing on other opponents.

   Pacquiao, instead will be fighting Timothy Bradley, but that was after Cotto wisely walked away from a rematch with the filipino sensation.  I say wisely because Pacquiao wanted Cotto to meet him at a catch weight of 147 pounds.  (Heres where all the die-hard Pac Man fans are gonna blow steam at me.)  The key to most of Pacquiao’s great victory’s has been, “catch weights”.  It takes a lot more out of a bigger fighter, to drain his body to make weight, (especially when it’s a weight lower than he typically fights,) than a smaller fighter to gain a few pounds.  Now that’s not to take away Pacquiao’s victory over Cotto, though.  Let’s face it, Cotto didn’t even have a trainer, he had the former apprentice of his uncle, and as Freddie Roach (Pacquiao’s trainer) stated before the fight, he could see that Cotto was in charge of his training camp, not the trainer.  After the early rounds, Cotto looked like a lost puppy in there, and had no one in his corner to guide him.

Even with the pressure from Bob Arum to fight Pacquiao, Cotto stepped away to take a bigger fight, with a hell of a lot bigger paycheck, against the best of the best, Floyd Mayweather.  Leaving myself both excited, and confused as far as who to cheer for.  I like Mayweather.  Yes he gets a lot of criticism for his loud mouth and his actions, but let’s not fool ourselves, it’s called an act.  He isn’t the highest paid boxer for nothing, after all.  He knows how to promote himself and a fight.  Even when viewers are spending their money, hoping he’ll get knocked out, their still spending their money.

I think Mayweather is a naturally gifted athlete, who puts in the hard work to be the best.  His gym motto is “Hard Work, Dedication”, for God’s sakes.  On the other hand, I have been following Cotto since very early in his career.  I’m not going to lie though, what first got my attention wasn’t just his boxing, but the fact he happens to be from the same small town as my Grandfather, Caguas, Puerto Rico.  So he’s the pride of not just Caguas, P R in general.

So who will win this great fight?  Cotto made me proud in his last fight with Margarito.  Mostly because he finally fought a fight based on the opponent’s style, rather than just going into the ring with the attitude, that all fights are the same.  If he and his trainer ( not sure if it’ll be Pedro Luis Diaz or Emanuel Steward) prepare a strategy around Mayweather’s style, he may stand a chance, not a big one, but a chance.  But of course, Mayweather is Mayweather.  If I had to put money down,(although my heart is with Cotto) I would put it on Mayweather winning by decision.

~ by jsesautte on February 8, 2012.

5 Responses to “Cotto vs Mayweather”

  1. Reblogged this on Thoughts on Boxing and commented:
    This commentary goes against popular opinion and I think the analysis is spot-on.

  2. I second that comment. I am actually quite excited about this fight, and sick of hearing about the possibility of Mayweather and Pac-Man.

  3. Really insightful commentary. I can’t express how much I agree with you about Pacquiao and Mayweather, and I haven’t read such a succinct description of their careers. Hopefully they’re still going to end up in the ring together next year, but I agree with the writers who are saying that the fight has an “expiration date.” I’m not sure either one is still at their peak, and if they are, it’s not going to last much longer. Great analysis of the Cotto fight too. I was so thrilled to see him beat that cheater, Margarito, in their second fight. I think the gloves were loaded in the first bout because Cotto did the same thing to him for about 7 or 8 rounds in that fight, he just started getting his face caved in and couldn’t maintain pressure. Like you said, Arum is the real problem at this point. Bradley-Pacquiao is a joke. The fight with Alexander was way overhyped and to me, neither fighter deserves the reputation they’ve been attributed though I respect Alexander a little more because he doesn’t consider a headbutt his bread-and-butter punch. I could see Pacquiao getting a career-altering gash over one of his eyes from this fight, making Mayweather’s task that much easier if they do finally get together. I resented Mayweather’s immodest approach since I started watching boxing around the time of De la Hoya-Mayweather, but at this point you just can’t deny his supreme talent. The fight with Mosley was the biggest indicator to me, when he showed that he could stand and trade shots with power, speed and focus as well as anyone in the division. Especially after Pac-Marq III it looks like Pacquiao just can’t handle that kind of counter-punching and accuracy.

  4. Thanks. I agree that Margarito cheated. And I like your description of Bradley’s best weapon, his head. If you never saw it, check out Mayweather when he fought Diego Corrales years back. I agree the fight against Mosley was brilliant, so was this fight with Corrales. Thanks again.

  5. Thanks, I’m sick of having to defend Mayweather against Pacman fans. I think Pacquiao is a great fighter, but I don’t think he’s God like some people do.

Leave a Reply

 
