the AFTERMATH

Last night my two favorite fighters fought and I was proud.  Proud to witness Floyd Mayweather’s brilliance in boxing,-why he is one of my idols, and proud of Cotto’s performance.  No one thought Cotto was going to win, but all I cared about was that he gave the fight of his life and he did not let me down.

In my opinion he gave Floyd the best fight of his career.  He fought the pound for pound best fighter in the world, and one of the best in boxing history and did better than any of Floyd’s opponents before.  In a tradition of great Puerto Rican Champions, Miguel Cotto has nothing to be ashamed of, although I did feel it was a shame one judge only gave Cotto one round, but no matter he wasn’t going to win.  On the other hand, in an odd way, I feel he is a winner, since he was not dominated by an undefeated fighter, who may retire undefeated.

I’m proud of both fighters, Thanks for a good show.

 

 

~ by jsesautte on May 6, 2012.

3 Responses to “the AFTERMATH”

  1. What did you think of Alvarez-Mosley and the recently announced Williams-Alvarez fight?

  2. Mosley surprised me and gave a better fight than I thought, and Alvarez impressed me. He is a very patient fighter and I like his crisp precise punching. I still don’t think he’s ready for a Mayweather fight, like he wants, even after Williams. He may have alot of fights already and is experienced, but most of those were to no names in Mexico, not quite the kind of experience he needs. But he’s a good fighter. As for Williams, I lost alot of respect for him over his few last fights, mostly because he and his team seem to refuse to adjust and correct mistakes he makes in the ring. To me it shows a lack of dedication. He continues to get caught by over hand punches, as he did against Martinez. On the other hand I do think he’ll give Alvarez a good fight, but I think Alvarez will win. I just hope HBO or SHOWTIME doesn’t expect me to pay for this fight though.

  3. I totally agree about Mayweather and about Williams. It’s hard to stay interested when a boxer shows such a lack of respect for the sport by saying he’s got nothing left to learn and won’t correct any mistakes. I’m a little worried Williams could steal a decision though. It’ll be tough for Alvarez. I hope they feed him Chavez Jr. after Williams.

Leave a Reply

 
