The Style of NO STYLE

Bruce Lee is one of my idols.  Those who don’t know much about him, he was more than just a martial artists, and actor.  He was a teacher.  A teacher of martial arts, philosophy, art, a teacher of life.  Many of his teachings and writings you can relate to any aspect to life.  I myself interpreted  many of his words towards my art.  For instance, he believed in fighting in the “Style of NO STYLE”, forgetting all the traditions and old methods which he felt hold you back in an actual fight.  I believe this same idea in art.  Forget any notions of what makes a painting a particular style.  My work is not portrait, figurative, contemporary, avant garde, nor abstract.  My art is just me.

In honor of this amazing individual here are some of his words, although this doesn’t even scratch the surface of his writings,…

 

 

“To Express Yourself in Freedom, You Must Die to Everything of Yesterday.  From the Old You Derive Security.  From the New You Gain the Flow.”

 

 

 

 

 

“Let the Spirit Out.  Discard all Thoughts of Reward, All Hopes of Praise, and Fears of Blame,  All Awareness of One’s Bodily Self.  And Finally closing the Avenues of Sense Perception, Let the Spirit Out, As IT WILL.”

 

 

 

 

 

“I Lay on the boat and felt that I had united with Tao: I had become one with Nature.  I just lay there and let the boat drift freely according to it’s own will.  For at that moment I had achieved a state of inner feeling in which opposition had become mutually cooperative instead of mutually exclusive, in which there was no longer any conflict in my mind.  The whole world to me was unitary.”

 

 

 

” The Knowledge and skill you have achieved are after all meant to be “forgotten” so you can float in emptiness without obstruction and comfortability.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

” Classical methods and tradition make the mind a slave-you are no longer an individual, but merely a product.  Your mind is a result of a thousand yesterdays.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

” Art is never decoration, embellishment: instead it is work of enlightenment.  Art, in other words, is a technique for acquiring liberty.”

 

 

 

 

 

” A teacher is never a giver of truth-he is a guide, a pointer to the truth that each student must find for himself (herself).  A good teacher is merely a catalyst.”

~ by jsesautte on May 26, 2012.

3 Responses to “The Style of NO STYLE”

  1. those 3 I like most: “To Express Yourself in Freedom, You Must Die to Everything of Yesterday. From the Old You Derive Security. From the New You Gain the Flow.”, “Art is never decoration, embellishment: instead it is work of enlightenment. Art, in other words, is a technique for acquiring liberty.”, “A teacher is never a giver of truth-he is a guide, a pointer to the truth that each student must find for himself (herself). A good teacher is merely a catalyst.” I saved them at my disk. :-) they could fit as introductory quotes for some of the entries I posted… :-D

  2. Reblogged this on PORTAFOLIO. BITACORA DE UN TRANSFUGA. 2000.2010.

  3. Reblogged this on PORTAFOLIO. BITACORA DE UN TRANSFUGA. 2000.2010.

Leave a Reply

 
