Giger’s Darkness

When I was around 15 years old, my life’s path into painting opened up to me.  I was going through a little “teenage dark” stage at the time.  While walking through a book store, killing time, is when I saw it.  It captured not only my vision, but my heart, my mind.  It was as if I was lost in the woods and suddenly some phenomenon  appeared to guide me where I was suppose to be.  It was a book of the artist H.R. Giger’s work.  I’d known “Alien” of course, but I did not know Giger, until then.

 

His dark, unique, and unusual art spoke to me.  It was as if his dark world was the same as my dark world, only I had never known I could put mine into art, before that moment.  I grew up drawing, mostly comic books, but I knew nothing about the “fine art’ or “gallery” world prior to this.  Giger’s work is what inspired me to eventually pick up a brush and study oil painting, although Giger himself uses airbrush, and I wouldn’t actually start painting until about five years later when I was 20.

It was Giger’s art that showed me, that I could be “free” and allow what was “in” me, to be expressed, through my own art.  The Swiss Surrealist is truly brilliant and completely one of a kind.  For those who don’t know, he is the creator of the creatures in the films “Alien”, and “Species”, but here is some more of his work…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by jsesautte on July 17, 2012.

2 Responses to “Giger’s Darkness”

  1. his stuff is great!! and the painting with the babies made me laugh! :-D

  2. yeah it’s kinda a strange painting.

Leave a Reply

 
