Shake Senora

When I was little, my Grandma was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease, a degenerative disorder of the central nervous system.  At the time I didn’t understand much about it, other than witnessing her tremors caused by the disease.  Much of my family, including her and I, are the kind of people who deal with life through humor, so we turned the effects of Parkinson’s into a joke.  I would hand her a glass of milk and ask her to make me a shake, or she would put her hands up and pretend threaten to shake me up.  I loved that little old lady, and was happy to have been able to play one last game of cards with her, before she passed to the other side a little over a year ago.

In her honor, on May 17th, in the garment district of New York City, myself ( member of team fox) and a group of talented artists will be exhibiting our art to help raise money towards the Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research.  And in keeping the humor, the show will be called ‘Shaking Things Up.

I have always wanted to use my art for something more than just “Self Success”, & hopefully if this show does good, I can do more in the future.  I am tired of people saying they want to help others, but when the time comes, they come up with an excuse.  I am a working class stiff, with not much to give, but my art.  I may not be able to give a lot, or even raise as much as other’s might, but every little bit helps.  I am thankful to everyone who has been gracious and helpful towards this show, and to the artists involved, including author Ondre’ Tokai, fashion designer and illustrator Caroline Berti, jewelry designer Jennifer Elizabeth, and painter Aleksander Betko, who’s Grandmother as well suffered from the effects of Parkinson’s.

Furthermore I believe in the goals of The Michael J Fox Foundation.  As in Government, it seems that in medical research, there is a lot of “Red Tape”, and it takes forever to get things done.  The foundation’s focus is on getting pass this “Red Tape” and to speed treatments that can slow, stop or reverse the progression of Parkinson’s disease.  As well they are of course dedicated to finding a cure for the disease, through an aggressively funded research agenda.   I feel this foundation is truly committed to finding treatments and a cure now, rather than tomorrow.  So I would like to thank Mr. Michael J Fox, Deborah Brooks and the rest of the foundation.  I hope to have a good show, come May 17th, if your’e in the area come on by.  I’ll be writing a little more in regards to the details of the show soon, but for now here’s the link to the website.  Thanks.

www.shakingthingsup.weebly.com

and a little video describing the values of the foundation…

 

~ by jsesautte on April 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
